…here’s Grace!

I have four Grace Jones  albums.    They’re great, and I could tell you  about them but I’m not going  to.  I want to tell you about the dodgiest song ever  played  on  commercial radio: Pull Up to the Bumper.   Because this is a family show, I am not going  to be explicit.  Let me say though  that  it is amazing  what  you can  get away with if you put some car sound effects in the background  and  mention bumper and  garage  every  now and then.

Driving down those city streets,
Waiting to get down,
Want to ditch your big machine,
Somewhere in this town?

If this is about cars then it is an interesting  start.  Perhaps it is talking about a person who wants  to go to a nightclub and is looking  for a car park?  Or maybe “get down” is the standard euphemism, and big machine and town  are metaphors.

Now in the park and lock garage,
You’ll find the proper place,
Just follow all the written rules,
You’ll fit into the space.

Car parking space…  obviously.

Pull up to my bumper baby,
In your long black limousine,
Pull up to my bumper baby,
And drive it in between.

Pull up, to it, don’t drive, through it,
Back it, up twice, now that, fit’s nice.

At this point,  if I were trying to park my car  I would be feeling quite hot and bothered  by the instructions  of  the  scary looking  lady parking  attendant.

Pull up to it, don’t drive through it,
Back it, up twice, now that fits nice,
Grease it, spray it, let me lubricate it,
Pull up to my bumper baby.

Good lord!   They offer some  strange services at this car park,  honey. 

Classic rock  DJ’s beware – never tell Grace  Jones you want to park your car in  her garage.

Having spent years listening to this song  and not realising what it was about, I now have increased  respect for Grace  Jones.  Perhaps English teachers could use Pull Up to the Bumper in  their classes to discuss metaphors and  euphemism?  I’ll suggest it to the  head of English.

Grace Jones is  fantastic.

2 thoughts on “…here’s Grace!

  1. Ah the naivety of youth. Grace Jones is following the tradition of the old Blues singers where most of the songs were about sex and they used the most amusing euphemisms.

  2. I must admit, I haven’t heard this before, though I do appreciate the double-entendre.

    Perhaps Grace would benefit froma visit to a body shop.

Leave a Reply

