Tainted Love

The video for Tainted Love by Soft Cell clarifies a lot for me about the meaning of this song.  I used to think it was about, well, tainted love, but now I know that it about aliens and flatulence.  Cosmic fart entities if you will.  The cosmic fart entities are sent to Earth by the lead singer of Soft Cell, Marc Almond (a harmless little nut), who is a semi-divine, omnipresent force in the universe (and one half of a synth pop duo).

The cosmic fart beings arrive in a young man’s bedroom and let loose their terrible powers.

The young man is forced to get dressed into a hunky leather jacket and jeans while under the constant terrifying threat of being hit by cosmic fart bombs.

Thankfully he is able to escape.

Soft Cell’s Tainted Love (a cover) was the single of the year in the UK in 1981, and it hung around in the New Zealand top ten for thirteen weeks in 1982 eventually reaching number two.  Their big album was Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (great name) which was an actual sign they saw outside a strip club (The Pink Pussycat. No, really).  A lot of people thought that the lead singer Marc Almond was a pretentious git.  Or maybe they were irritated by other things.  Like his gaiety.

A gay image from bangles?  Really? This was the era of mainly heterosexual boys with fabulous clothes, hair and make up prancing about on stage and still pulling birds.  It makes you suspect that the record executives were only worried because Marc actually was gay.  I mean, seriously?  Bangles make you look gay?  Check out the lead singer of Visage:

Ok, so even in 1982 this was considered pretty strange, but not necessarily gay, or should I say, not necessarily a transvestite.  Personally I feel that there’s a little too much blush going on here.  Perhaps he needed some female advice on make up.

Perhaps not.

Against the wonderful Steve Strange of Visage we must compare Marc Almond of Soft Cell.

From which we can conclude that Marc was right to be incensed.

Perhaps it explains his intensity in photo shoots.

Soft Cell had quite a few hits after Tainted Love, but by far my favourite is Say Hello, Wave Goodbye.  Fantastic lyrics.  Here is David Gray singing it.

7 thoughts on “Tainted Love

  1. No way! I’m a huge David Gray fan and had no idea that Say Hello Wave Goodbye was a cover of Soft Cell. And why is it that I have heard Tainted Love played more times than about any 80s song, yet I’d never seen the video? If seems the guy in the video also has some cosmic farts lurking in his refrigerator. He probably should’ve bought a box of baking soda.

    I don’t get why Marc Almond worried about appearing “too gay”. Isn’t that what men in the early 80s were supposed to look like? Perhaps he would’ve felt more comfortable in the mid to late 80s with such manly pretty men like Poison.

  2. LOL As always, great stuff. I used to love Tainted Love but I’ve heard it so often now it’s lost some of it’s appeal. As for all the bangles and make-up… I was ten when this song came out and I really didn’t think much of it. But then, I didn’t know who John Lennon was when he was shot either. I’m not sure if that’s indicative of anything, other than it’s nearly 2am and I’m reading your blog after working 12 hours from 12pm to 12am when I should be asleep because I’m bloody tired and I know I’m rambling so I’ll shut up now. Feel free to post you ‘wtf?” comments below 😛

  3. Bugger!
    I have always liked that ‘Tainted Love” song.
    That video is so bad on several levels. Nevermind, I’ll just have to go back (eventually) to my imagined scenario.

  4. I think that recording executives should have been more worried about the other guy’s facial hair.

  5. Go to bed. Tainted Love can wait.

    Also, working 12 hours is bad for you (but you know that already).

  6. Tell that to my manager. Today was worse. I got in at 10:30am, trained from 11:30am to 12:45pm and then trained again from 2:30pm to 9:45pm, on my feet the whole time, five sessions, 15 mins between each one. I felt like a museum tour guide and now my legs hurt.

    And yes, I would like some cheese with my whine, please.

Leave a Reply

