10 thoughts on “Miramar

  1. It’s quite beautiful. It’s really saying that Miramar is a blank canvas and we are all artists that can fill in Miramar with the art of our own creation. Kia ora, Miramar.

  2. It reminds me of ads we have locally for Sarnia-Lambton. It’s supposed to make you want to move there, but in reality just features two mismatched, desperate-looking people, faking smiles as though guns are pointed at them, holding an empty frame in front of them with the caption, “Picture yourself in Sarnia-Lambton!” All I hear when I see that ad is, “Please help us! We’re trapped in Sarnia-Lambton,” as muttered through pain-clenched teeth.

  3. If this is deliberate I will need to seriously reconsider my view of this paper’s editor upwards.

  4. Ha. Sounds like an ad we had here inviting us to move to Dunedin. I happen to love Dunedin, but it is pretty cold on the whole, and the ad featured a smiling couple basking in sunlight standing out on a deck. You could move to Dunedin for a whole lot of reasons but the balmy weather shouldn’t be one of them.

  5. Both awesome. Porirua used to be “City of Opportunity” back in the days when it was more associated with crime this didn’t play well. I can’t remember which tertiary provider it was, but there was a tech that used to have the slogan “From Mediocrity to Excellence” which I always imagined as “From Mediocrity to Excellence; We Take it All”.

  6. Not forgetting that 80s Classic Topgun – when the Air Crew commander Stinger tells Maverick and Goose,

    ‘Don’t screw around with me Maverick. You’re a hell of an instinctive pilot. Maybe too good. I’d like to bust your butt but I can’t. I got another problem here. I gotta send somebody from this squadron to Miramar. I gotta do something here, I still can’t believe it. I gotta give you your dream shot! I’m gonna send you up against the best. You two characters are going to Top Gun.’

    (yes I had to goggle it for the cut and paste, but we used to fall about every time. Miramar. Heheheheh’)

Leave a Reply

