Dunedin needs a stereotype

So I found this site that maps America.  The person who made it typed “Why is [state] so…” into the Google search bar and looked at the top four auto-suggestions that came up.  The results are pretty funny even if you aren’t American.

I thought I’d do the same for New Zealand.  Which was also kind of funny, but much more limited because of smaller volumes of internet traffic about obscure (to the rest of the world) New Zealand towns.

I live in Wellington.

Answers:

  1. It’s on the edge of a strait
  2. Why not?
  3. (I’m a teacher, I’m used to people not listening to me.)
  4. I don’t know, but she better get her shit together.

The largest city in New Zealand is Auckland.

  1. There are lots of boats
  2. THERE ARE A LOT OF BOATS
  3. Lord Auckland.  He never came here.  It was a sucking up thing.
  4. It’s complicated.

Christchurch is the main city in the South Island

  1. Let’s piece this together.  Christ.  Church.  I reckon it’s something to do with Christianity.
  2. It’s on a fault line.  Like everywhere else in New Zealand.
  3. Come on.  Really?  You have to Google this?

Dunedin was once the major city of New Zealand in the 1860s.  Now?

Ouch.  No one is asking questions about Dunedin.  I can think of some:

  1. Why is Dunedin so fricking cold
  2. Why is Dunedin so f*&king cold
  3. Why is Dunedin called Antarctica’s Surfers Paradise

After this the pickings are thin.

Hamilton, for example, gets “Why is Hamilton called Tron?”  Which is something about it being the “future city”.  Dumb.

New Zealand?

Nuclear free and good at rugby?  How could we be boring?

Strangely, boring came up a lot in the American original:

The single most common result of all was “boring,” which appeared for 18 states with no particular regional concentration.

Which I believe tells us a lot about people and T-shirts that say “Same shit, different day.”

So, how about other countries?

Weird?  Actually, it is pretty weird.

Is Canada paying Google?  Money can’t buy this kind of international PR.

6 thoughts on “Dunedin needs a stereotype

  1. That’s brilliant. I never thought to try that… now I’m going to waste my entire working day tomorrow buggering about with Google. Thanks JP, for giving me another excellent reason to piss away my career 😛

  2. I think the search for Canada should have one about being cold. Many parts of Canada get mighty cold in winter. Like Winnipeg. Or the vast Arctic tundra. I looked up the average mid-winter low temperatures for Dunedin and laughed aloud. I think it’s adorable that plus 3 degrees C is considered cold.

Leave a Reply

