Happy Holidays

I think I’ll take a break for a bit, and show up again in the new year some time.  I find that I don’t have anything to say and that I am turning into an awkward stranger at a party who keeps trying to restart dead conversations.

We had our staff lunch on Tuesday which represented the end of the school year.  It was jolly nice.  Plenty of food and bubbles.  I’m happy where I work, and who I work with.  Very happy.

Unfortunately I think that the defining event of 2012 was the sudden death of one my closest friends.  It threw many things in my life up in the air, and only bits and pieces have come floating back down back to where they were.  I suppose I will have to get used to missing Matt for the rest of my life; just like I have had to get used to missing Gran.

At the final assembly for the year we said goodbye to a man who has worked at the school for 28 years, and I thought – as the applause died after his speech – that it will not be long before the applause dies on my farewell speech.  The blink of an eye will see me there; twenty odd years from now, with two adult daughters and a retirement ahead.  The Head Girl said something I liked which seemed relevant: “Don’t cry because it’s over; smile because it happened.”  Indeed.  Who knows what life will be like in the 2030s?  Some days I don’t hold out much hope.  We live in greedy times, our hands all over the Earth and each other for the disposable pleasures of consumerism.

On the other hand, every generation represents a chance for change.  Each generation of the young seems to burn with the same idealism and hope that I still nurture inside me.  I and they want heroes.  Real ones, who move and inspire us to be better.  This year I discovered Robert  Kennedy.  Indulgently I shared this discovery with my Year 11 History class.  Some of the girls in that class sort of fell in love with him too, and asked me – on our last day – if they could have my posters of him.  Well, why not?  Better that they have a poster of Bobby on their wall than almost anyone else I would say.

Below is the poster I made for next year.  It’s my favourite quote by him, and I have talked about it before.

1953GreeceAcropolisAthens

I hope that you have a good break.

See you in 2013,

John-Paul

 

3 thoughts on “Happy Holidays

  1. Merry Christmas the you and yours – JP, Cathy, Elaeanor and wee Rosamund.
    Enjoy some real qualtiy time with your dear family and have a good one.

Leave a Reply

